Monday, September 26, 2011

Inspiration Blog - The International Quilt Challenge

To quote their own blurb - "A group of internet artists from all over the place who have decided to give each other a challenge every few weeks, on a theme chosen by each in turn. We have different ideas and styles, but share a love of textiles, and want to have some fun."
This group of textile artists is currently wrapping up their first challenge "Light and Shadow" and moving on to "Through The Window" Lots of interesting interpretations to see and be inspired by. The blog has only been running since July so I will be interested to see how the themes develop over time.
The artists "in residence" are :-
Deirdre Abbotts www.deirdreabbotts.com/
Esther Aliu www.estheraliu.blogspot.com/
Marion Barnett http://artmixter.blogspot.com/
Sally Bramald http://quiltfeather.blogspot.com/
Jane Davila http://janedavila.com/
Felicity Hopkins http://textileseahorse.blogspot.com/
Angela Huddart http://angelasquilts.blogspot.com/
Sue Krekorian http://magicarmchairstitcher.blogspot.com/
Claire Lynch http://millypenny.blogspot.com/
Julie Mackinder
Liz Plummer http://lizplummer.com/blog/
Paula Rafferty http://paularafferty.blogspot.com/
Annabel Rainbow www.annabelrainbow.com/
Margaret Ramsay http://magsramsay.blogspot.com/
Elma Richmond
Sandra Wyman http://thedyershand.blogspot.com/
Hop on over to http://internationalquiltchallenge.blogspot.com/ to see some interesting "inspiration" photos and thoughts that lead to the finished pieces. (I'll up-date the personal links as I find them.)


My favorite interpretation of the Light and Shadows theme is "Indigo Hill Arches" by Margaret Ramsay with Esther Aliu's "Shadow and Sunrise" nipping at her heels :)